Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    A day off

    June 25, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    I didn't wake until the alarm was ringing in my ears at 08.30!
    I was meeting Tom for breakfast at 09.30 so I had to get move on.
    He was waiting for me at the marina reception and we headed towards Dalkey in his car on a scenic spin and a climb up to the obelisk on the top of Killiney Hill. The climb wasn't as bad as Tom described, luckily he was struggling just as much if not more than me by the time we got to the top.

    How with an appetite built up it was time to eat but the restaurant he was intending to bring me to was closed so it was back to his house where we had a bbq fry up. It tasted great as we sat in the sun chatting away.

    Tom dropped me back about 13.30 and I paid for my extra night on the marina, fixed the bilge pump and tidied the boat before Brian had a chance to give out about my lack of domestic skills.

    Once everything was shipshape I got the dart into the city before changing at Connelly station for the train out to Coolmine where Brian picked me up. Obviously he didn't trust me to find my way to his house, a five minute walk up the road.

    Back at Brian & Brenda's I had my second BBQ of the day and we were joined by my cousin Máire and her husband Noel who are also good friends of B & B.
    Read more