Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    End of Heatwave.

    July 28, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    I woke early and couldn't get back to sleep with the noise of the wind in the rigging so I headed for the showers before the rush.
    There was definitely a change in the weather as it also had become showery.

    I had finished my breakfast before before Jim & Angela surfaced. A late start for them.
    Jim and I gave the 'Ilen' a hand in departing. There was only a crew of two and they were well skilled so we didn't have much to do.
    We then went for a walk up the village and it included a coffee and a scone. At last I was getting my own way!

    There was a children's aqua obstacle course in the cove and we were nearly deafened by the children enjoying themselves.
    Once we did our sightseeing we returned to the boats where I tried to catch up on the sleep I lost this morning. I was partly successful.

    As we were having dinner on 'Second Chance' we discussed tomorrow.
    The boat inside us wanted to leave at 07.30 so we decided we might as well leave at the same time instead of tying up again once they had departed.

    Our next stop was going to be Jim's home town of Dungarvan and he had arranged the loan of two moorings but we'd have to anchor at the mouth of the bay until we have enough water to get over the bar.

    We headed to bed early and I set the alarm for 06.00. It was going to be a long day tomorrow.
    Read more