Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Market day

    June 3, 2017 in England ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    I woke early but it was breezy outside and chilly onboard. I had no intention of getting up too quickly.
    It's the sort of morning that makes me look forward to having the heating fitted. Only two or three days now and I'll be toasting my toes as the hot air blows through the boat.

    Had breakfast aboard and then went for a shower.
    I found that the five star showers were being cleaned so I had to go to the three star ones nearby.

    I later walked up the town and discovered that there was it was market day with lots of stalls on the High Road and bought myself a pair of cheap deck shoes.

    I visited Tesco's and did a bit of provisioning which included a few prepared ready meals that looked appetising.

    There was an incident at the marina in the afternoon. A large motorboat was leaving the marina with it's new owner aboard with his wife and kids.
    The 'for sale' signs were still visible and it soon turned out that he was totally inexperienced.
    He left his berth very slowly and the wind blew him up against the bows of the boats opposite his berth. He panicked and opened the throttle and the noise of the scraping his boat against the pulpits, anchors etc. of the other boats was horrendous. Luckily a nearby experienced sailor jumped aboard and took over.
    I assisted in bringing the boat was brought back to its berth and everyone calmed down. Amazingly very little damage was done.

    In fairness to the new owner, he learnt his lesson that boats are not like cars and don't always go where you point them.
    I saw him a few days later with an instructor aboard. I hope he and his family had many enjoyable experiences with the boat in the years since.

    One of the Tesco's dinners was enjoyed later and as hoped was very tasty.
    Read more