Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Last Train Day

    November 10, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 38 °C

    Had a better night sleep last night but still woke up quite tired. Had breakfast and got ready to get off the train for our Katherine tour of Nitmiluk Gorge. We were told the heat would be as bad as in Alice but with the added benefit of humidity, but it didn’t actually seem quite as bad.

    We caught the bus out to the Gorge and boarded the boat for the cruise. We were told pretty quickly that we probably wouldn’t see any crocs because it was too hot. The gorge was worth seeing. We had a short walk between gorges - on the second boat we were stuck at the front in the heat but once it got going it wasn’t too bad. We didn’t see much wildlife but Rob did spot a ‘turtle’ (aka logodile). After the boat trip I went to the toilet and told Rob I’d meet him on the bus, but by the time I got there someone was being sick on the bus and I couldn’t get on! I was told to get on a different bus and even after telling the guy that my “husband” was on the other one he’s like “don’t worry we will tell him what’s happening”. Not really good enough! Rob saw me get on and came across to that one instead so I was happy with that. But pretty annoyed that they’d just separate you like that and think it’s acceptable.

    Back in the train and it was another lunch and easy afternoon as we travelled into Darwin. Was a bit sad to be getting off but by the same token we were ready for the next part of the holiday.
    Read more