Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Mad Monkey, Koh Rong Samleom

    March 24, 2017 in Cambodia ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Mad monkeys was the name of the hostel where I stayed in Koh Rong Samleom. It's got its own little cove on the island and is completely on its own in the trees. It's all wooden based ensuring the keep the area looking authentic and relatively natural. It's also one of the most beautiful places I have been to, all 24 hours of the day.

    Entering the hostel the first thing you see is the bar, above it a sign saying 'no wifi - make friends' and no lie, this is the most sociable hostel I have stayed in up to date, I wonder why? It's a very strange and surreal experience being on the island without any technology, you feel as though you have stopped in time having no clue what the date, day or time is.

    Most my time on the island was spent with two German girls, Alina and Pia who were great company and a lot of fun. We made promises to each other that they would come visit me in London and I would go to Oktoberfest in Germany with them. Whether this trip would be in my budget or not is another matter. The 4 days spent on this island consisted of plenty card games, watching the plankton at night and chilling in the hammocks out at sea. I can honestly say I felt as though I was in my own little paradise.

    However, after having had enough of being unable to escape the sand, it was time to head back to the mainland.
    Read more