Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Etapa 9: Coimbra

    January 15 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    Update: Whoops, did not realize this post and the last one did not update!

    I arrived to Coimbra with Margarida on a very rainy evening. We said our goodbyes after having spent a couple of days in Alburgues together as she was heading back to Lisbon by bus to complete the rest of the route at a later date. I stayed in the back room of an old church convent. It was a real maze to get to. Like through 3 different courtyards. The next morning, it was still quite rainy and I did some laundry in the morning and had lunch under a covered bench in a park. Realizing that I was really losing daylight and would probably have to walk in the dark and rain again, I decided to stay in Coimbra one more night haha

    The second night, I stayed in a hostel in the city center which had MUCH better showers. I explored the city a bit during the day (it was built around an old and very important university) and in the evening, I got Korean fried chicken with some people I met at my hostel. Fran and I were also trying to see some Fado music, but the location was unfortunately closed. So instead, we tried to find a bar with people (hard on a rainy Monday night) and get some drinks!
    Read more