Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    The only way to get there is to walk

    January 19 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    I left around 7 this morning and it was quite nice to walk in the early morning as I’d generally been starting out later to avoid the typical morning rain shower.

    Today’s walk was pretty much completely through urban areas. Either through a town or next to the road. It really was a good way to get a sense of how people live. I do think that I generally prefer more of the farmland and natural scenery though for a whole day of walking.

    Some things I’ve noticed:

    * There are a surprising number of animal pastures like right next to or in the middle of large town.
    *Terracotta roofs are quite heavy. I saw a number of abandoned houses, and it seems like the roof always caves in first.
    *Almost no one uses a leash when walking a dog.
    *Very few bill boards
    *At least to my untrained eye, it’s pretty rare to see houses that are tiled, have similar tiles to other houses. There are so many unique patterns!
    *All large name brand grocery stores have tent like awnings for people to park their car beneath.

    Tomorrow I should arrive in Porto! I’m planning on spending a few days there, maybe 3.
    Read more