Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Etapa 15: Arvore

    January 24 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    The three Alburgues after Porto were all closed so we were advised to stay at a campground. They had these small Bungalows and I shared one with Fran and his brother Alfonso.

    Alfonso and I arrived first and so went to have dinner together in the town. The restraints that we saw all seemed quite expensive so we attempted to say that we were looking for something cheaper. A host of a fancy restaurant told us to follow him and he took us down the block to an ally behind a building where there was a very small hole in the wall place that was selling drinks and small sandwhiches to what seemed like a very local crowd and the price was excellent.

    I was trying to order a beer but I think I wanted was lost in translation so I only ended up with a sandwiches. While we were eating, an older German man came over with an open beer and gave it to me. He had recently moved to Portugal to start a company and had really excellent English. He and I talked for a bit and he was telling me about how he’d recently moved back to Europe from living in China for 9 years. Super nice guy and he would not let me pay him back for the beer!

    We also ended up going to a different dive bar for ANOTHER sandwich (needed lots of calories) and met Fran there.

    In the morning, we started the day at a bakery in town.
    Read more