Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Observations in China by Rachel

    July 25, 2016 in China ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    - most woman wear beautiful dresses as standard day wear and no-one seems to sweat.
    - I thought we would feel like big friendly giants (my sister in law's observation) but I didn't feel ridiculously tall just sweaty
    - I exercised restraint when our guide made disparaging comments about the Dalai Lama.
    - parts of Chinese history are not to be acknowledged or spoken about. I knew this was the case before but it is different experiencing it first hand.
    - the Chinese don't do left handed all children learn to write with their right hand
    - the way our guide spoke about the government felt like she had a strict third parent that was to be obeyed. It made me appreciate the freedoms I take for granted in the UK - even if that means Brexit.
    - Bejing feels an incredibly safe , friendly city.
    - I will never drive in Bejing. It feels like you narrowly avoid killing someone at every junction/set of traffic lights.
    Read more