Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Cruising on Talybont reservoir

    September 18, 2016 in Wales ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Things were all going so well on the navigation front until I missed a right turn and added two miles to the trip at Neuadd. I was pretty tired by this point so the timing wasn't great. However, things then got much better.

    I had seen that the final couple of miles today were downhill, but didn't expect this. The route followed a disused railway which had a slight gradient downhill so that I travelled for about 2 miles literally without pedalling at all. Brilliant. I forced myself to stop mid free wheel to take this photo of the stunning Talybont reservoir.

    I then followed the pathside signs rather than my map and ended up on an 1800s tramway direct to today's final destination Talybont. Great apart from the most bumpy ride yet. The bike survived - I think.
    Read more