Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Learning About Myself as a Leader

    July 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    What are you hoping to learn about yourself as a leader on this trip?

    In my experience as a leader, I've been a part of many projects, but they have all been smaller scale in the bigger picture of things. Not to say that what I've done is small, but to say that there are things much larger in the world I have yet to be a part of. Coming to this city, I wanted to learn how I function and what I can provide in these larger-scale projects. The change of the buildings, people, and overall setting around me really helped me immerse myself in this unfamiliar place. After landing and getting on our first bus, I thought to myself, "This is the place I can help make a difference in." The service work I could be a part of in this place would help show to me the needs of other parts of the world, needs that people may be less concerned about in the places I've already done service work, like Winfield and Medicine Lodge. I joined this trip and class because It is all very new and unfamiliar to me, and by exposing myself to all these new and unfamiliar things, I could make myself more equipped to handle and understand unique and strange leadership situations I've never faced, like a different urgency to my work, the people I may encounter and potentially lead, and belive me, there were some unique and colorful people in New Orleans. This trip is the perfect learning experience for people like me, people with a very small world view.Read more