Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    New Experiences in NOLA

    July 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    What about being in NOLA is a new experience for you?

    I could go on for hours about this question! Honestly, It felt as if every second there was something new happening. Everyone who I was with on this trip heard me say the words: "Thrill a minute," more than a few times. First of all, flying was my first new experience. Cramming together with my friends and strangers on a giant sky bus was the highlight of my year. The shaking of turbulence is a unique experience and the naps I caught on the plane were unlike any other, and I know my naps. Getting out of the airport in Louisiana was about the same as the others, but once we loaded into the normal land bus, there were trees and buildings I had only seen in pictures before. Something as simple as going to an Air B&B or using public transportation was completely foreign to me. I made it a point to throw myself feet first into everything new and interesting, no matter how small or large it was. Getting on the plane and laughing myself pink because of how strange it was that a bipedal land creature like me saw the top of clouds, paying a stranger to ride in their car, paying a different stranger to stay in their house for some amount of time, these are things that seem completely crazy to my small-town-brain. I saw a clash of different characters roam the streets dressed in a fashion police misdemeanor. I ate meats from strange creatures smothered in a sauce or seasoning that I absolutely need in my fridge or pantry. The shameless attitudes of street folk were all spectacles to see. This city is exactly how I say; "Thrill a minute."Read more