Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    City of Adventure

    July 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Kouzes and Posner suggest exemplary leaders should “treat every job as an adventure.” What have you learned about how to do this on this trip?

    While on this trip, I really did feel like everything was an adventure. From the moment I set foot in the airport, I was doing something new. After that, everything I did continued to be new. With so much being new and exciting, it made the trip much more enjoyable and I allowed myself to be open to any opportunity. On our work days, I saw them as adventures too, because of how excited I was just to be there. The work I did was new and exciting stuff that I had never done before. Overall, I learned that if you allow yourself to be open to new experiences and be ready to do something new, these new experiences can be adventurous. One thing that turns people away from doing service work is the second word; work, but If you see the product of your work or see your work as something exciting and adventurous, you see it less as work and more as a project. I think that the word "adventure" is an attractive word that really catches peoples' attention and for a good reason too. I joined this class and went along with this trip because I knew it was going to be an adventure, and I've got much more than what I thought I was signing up for. I learned about the rich history of the city, the uniqueness of it, and some of the problems it faces and how I, as a leader, can help.Read more