Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Santa Rita Vinery

    April 2, 2017 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Once in Chile I wanted to experience a little bit of the Chilean wine culture. As I have a low travel budget and love to explore things on my own I dicided to not book a wine tour with an agency. In the center of Santiago there are several info points where you can book tours directly to different vineyards (wine tasting ~32000 CLP or biking tour with wine tasting ~42000 CLP). I decided to go to the vineyard Santa Rita which is in the south of Santiago. On the website (santarita.com) you can find their tour offers, how to get there etc.). They offer tours in English, Spanish and Portuguese two times per day. I took the bus from the bus stop (San Francisco street crossing Tarapaca street) to 'Alameda - Alto Jahuel' (1.5 hours, 1100 CLP). Just ask the bus driver to let you know when you pass Santa Rita. From the entrance it is a 15 minutes walk to the winery. The weather was beautiful and I just walked a bit through the lovely wine region before I visited the vineyard and the Museo Andino. There is also a little park, restaurant and coffee shop to hang around the rest of your day. In the evening after I bought a bottle of wine I took the bus back to Santiago (same place where the bus dropped me off). All in all a wonderful day!Read more