Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    We're not in Kansas anymore

    May 9, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    o What are you hoping to learn about yourself as a leader on this trip?

    The Southwestern Leadership Team has made it to Philly and ready to take on this week in a new place! So excited for this new experience. This trip I am hoping to put myself in situations in which I have not been in before and learn more about myself. I am hoping that with this experience it helps me to expand my leadership knowledge and better understand the urban life. I am from a small town in Kansas so this is going to be all new to me. When I go on trips, I do not go to the rough parts of the city, because I am not doing service. When doing service in the city I am going to have to experience uncomfortable times, but that will help me see why we need to do service in that area. Over the time in Philadelphia, I learned that sometimes even when you may be uncomfortable, you can still see the work that you have done and how much it has benefited the people in the surroundings. When we were working at front steps I was really surprised with how many people actually stopped to tell us thank you. It was a good feeling to see that they actually noticed the work that we were doing. We even had a couple of people that asked where they could get the litter claws or how they could help. It was nice to see us encourage others to act by such a simple task as picking up litter.Read more