Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Asuncion - Day 2

    July 13, 2022 in Paraguay ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    The people i talked to the night before had mixed opinions about downtown asuncion. Some said it had nice places and others said to not go because it is ugly. I caught an uber there to form my own opinion and i gotta agree with the ugly remark. I walked around for an hour and only found a couple of nice buildings. Everything else looked almost abandoned and in great decline, but lots of people going about their business in the streets.

    I couldn't find a decent restaurant either so i got an uber to the very popular and restaurant heavy area of carmelitas. But strangely, not a single place was open until 5 or 6pm. So I made my way back to my hotel and found an American eatery in the next door shopping mall. It feels like i am the only tourist in this country.

    My friend Abdel travels to Paraguay a few times a year for work and he gave me his co-worker's contact info. Simon met me at a micro brewery in carmelitas and we bounced around to few different places. Also met a paraguayan katherina at one of the places and she tagged along with us. Not much to do in this city during the day, but very fun at night.
    Read more