Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Comayagua

    July 22, 2022 in Honduras ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Drove down the coast to check out some of el salvador's far reaches that are much less traveled. Reached El Jaguay point and got to a vantage point of being able to see the Gulf of Fonseca and its islands that belong to El Salvador, Nicaragua and Honduras. Backtracked a bit and popped into Las Tunas which had a very unique setting of buildings on stilts on the beach and the tide creating a river between buildings and like the beach is inside to town. Hard to describe, will attach a vid.

    From here, headed to the Honduras border. Took me a very long time to get across this border. At the El Salvador exit office, i was told I needed to checkin online for honduras. I tried to do it but it didn't work and figured i would get there and sort it out at the honduras entry office.

    Then i got to a bridge and a border stop where i was given a link to another online form. Every time i submitted, I would get an error and all my info would get wiped out. I eventually did the whole thing in front of an official on my 4th attempt, and he witnessed it and gave me a piece of paper. Drove a bit further and entered a large building with a huge lineup to finally get my passport stamped. Whole thing took me 90 minutes but i admit if i knew the steps, it would have been a lot faster.

    Finally, in Honduras. Shockingly, it was a brand new 4 lane divided highway the entire drive to comayagua; which was a gorgeous drive high up in the mountains often with panoramic views all around. Arrived at my very cute downtown hotel and went off to see the town before it got dark. Very pretty colonial town in the mountains but unfortunately clouds blocked out the views.

    Grabbed some supper, and bounced around to a few different locations but was very quiet, especially for a friday. Went to a pretty beer garden and to a hotel owned craft beer place that was very ornate. Locals told me nothing really happens here until Saturday. Oh well, at least everyone was really nice and i get more much needed sleep :)
    Read more