Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Mindo day 3 - Ecuador

    August 31, 2016 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    When I was but my activities, I was told I had to pay for a taxi as well. Now this seemed a little silly when I am such an able bodied young woman so I asked if I could walk it and they made a face of "you really shouldn't" but said that it was a two kilometer walk. To me this sounds like no biggy. So today I got my ready face on and started to walk. Turns out the way is up hill... But I'm surrounded by beautiful greenery so who cares?

    My first activity of the day is a canopy zip line. This was terrifying and exhilarating and everything it should be. I also met a pair of travelers who I clicked with and hoped to see later in Baños. The only downside (or upside, depending on how you wanna look at it) was the incredible amount of uphill walking I had to get again endure between each zip line.

    After that activity I moved on to the next. On the map they were drawn pretty close together but in reality it was another 3 kilometers uphill.

    This was a cable car that takes you across a ravine and on the other side you hike to see five waterfalls. The way was gorgeous but I was tired from the walking I had already done and this hike was entirely downhill. So I'll admit, knowing every downhill step I took was another I would have to take uphill later(and that I still had the five km back to town), I only made it to the first waterfall before going back. It was about an hour walk.

    On my walk back, I was picked up by a family with three little kids so I didn't end up walking the whole five km. Very entertaining ride, me trying to communicate with three little kids in Spanish who don't realize they need to speak slowly because my Spanish is iffy. It was all good fun.

    I got back to town and my friends from the zip line had yet to catch their bus to Quito so we got lunch. When they left, I went to crash at my hostel, I was spent.
    Read more