Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Mahebourg

    January 25, 2022 in Mauritius ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Now that I'm at the airport waiting for my flight to Tel Aviv (yes, I finally had a negative covid test), I'm posting my last look at Mauritius.
    Mahebourg is the main town in the southeast of Mauritius. It is more a large village than a city, but pretty much all the city amenities are here. This is the town closest to the international airport.
    The 1st picture looks at Mahebourg from the water while I was Cruisin' (see another post). The 2nd picture is of the Malecón or Riva or Esplanade at the waterfront. The 3rd picture is of one of the streets near the guest house where I stayed. It gives a sense of what this tropical village is like.
    The 4th picture is pretty unique. One of the birds we didn't get to see at Ile Aux Aigrettes (see another post) is the pink pigeon. This is an endemic species in Mauritius that nearly went extinct and is still rare. Imagine my surprise to see one on the roof next door.
    The last 2 pictures are taken from my room at the guest house: one during the day and the other at sunrise of basically the same view. If you blow up the daytime picture, you will see a small white line in the distance. Those are waves breaking on the coral reef that encloses the lagoon. This lagoon is far larger than what I had visualized for a lagoon. I guess the pictures I had seen were not fully representative of what coral lagoons can be. And sunrise is beautiful, too, for those who are awake.
    Read more