Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Villafranca del Bierzo

    June 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    Villafranca del Bierzo is a village and municipality located in the comarca of El Bierzo, in the province of León, Castile and León, Spain.

    Totally cool history please check

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Villafranca_del…

    The Peninsular War (1807–1814) of course was the military conflict fought in the Iberian Peninsula by Spain, Portugal, and the United Kingdom against the invading and occupying forces of the First French Empire during the Napoleonic Wars.

    Which is where one of my fave song quotes comes from
    Oer the hills and oer the plains
    Through Flanders Portugal and Spain
    King George commands and we obey
    Oer the hills and far away...

    And of course there is Bernard Caldwell's Sharpe Rifles series and PBS TV ones with young Sean Bean...

    Be it that this is the end of my stage and I was waaaay too early fir my albergue check in, we took another break before I walked Leif to the other side of Plaza Major and wished him a fond Buen Camino.... he's moving on for another 10km

    And not counting fideua in Burgos this is my 1st true pasta dish so far (carbonara)

    Later in the evening the pilgrims and locals gather on Plaza Mayor for dinner and

    Iglesia de San Francisco I probably would have climbed up but it's too late in the day and still too hot for me to do that so that's the only picture we get
    Read more