Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Week 1

    June 29, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I realized quickly how it wouldn’t be so easy to update every day. I’ve been very busy and very tired so I haven’t taken notes or taken too many pictures but here goes.
    Orientation began Wednesday, so the majority of my week has been spent at the school learning my way around and my responsibilities as an English Theatre teacher.
    Classes will begin Monday. At no point can any of the teachers speak Spanish to our Spanish students. This program is about total immersion, which means every subject being taught (theatre, dance, music, arts and crafts, creative writing, etc) will be in English.
    The school I’m at is called Colegio Santa María La Blanca. It’s a catholic school, is very big, and I get to use a fancy fingerprint security system to get to my classes. That means I’m important. I’ll be in charge of students ages 6-14, all of whom speak English at different levels, with one student who has multiple disabilities that have taken 80% of his eyesight and confine him to a wheelchair. I have to consider all of this in all of my theatre lessons, which is causing me some stress because I have to replan some things.

    Anyway, here’s some things I’ve done outside of the actual reason for me being here:
    • Went to the biggest flea market in Madrid
    • Ate octopus, oysters, and other stuff (I’m looking at you, Bob. Photo for proof.)
    • Bought Spanish pants. They’re very comfy.
    • Spent way too much money on fruity pebbles and Dr. Pepper
    • Learn to say the word “apron” in Spanish.
    • Broken and fixed a nail.
    • Ate some delicious sandwiches and fries.
    • Been very, very, VERY American.

    I’ll update when I’m not dying of exhaustion.
    Read more