Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Camponaraya

    May 30, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    My longest leg, just over 15 miles. I decided to take the slightly longer route through vineyards. Thunderstorms last night cooled things off and I started out early at 6:30 am to try to beat the heat and storms. It’s been a cool, quiet morning, just a few other people. Got an aura, probably because I skipped breakfast, but I was able to smooth it out with relaxation and breathing. Desayuno at Cafe Barnaraya. Across the street an add for traditional music lessons. Note the bagpipes. This area was Celtic before the Romans started mining gold in the hills.

    This is also the home of Lydia Valentin Perez a Gold, Silver, and Bronze medalist in several Olympic Games and they have a round about dedicated to her.

    On the climb out of town I passed a Wine Institue for the local DO (Denominazione de Origine of Bierzo), then the entire last third of the day spent in vineyards!
    Read more