Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    A Scout is Helpful

    June 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    This bridge that predates the Roman era, I saw in a display in the museum in Melidé, so I wanted to snap a picture. As I packed up, an older woman approached the bridge and stopped. She and I have been passing each other for five days. She looked at the bridge and then at the creek and started to cry. I asked, “Are you OK?” “Le Pont C’est tres deficile.” “The bridge is very difficult.” Pas problem, Granmere. Ici”. “No problem Grandma, here”. I got myself to the other side, took off my pack, put my poles down and went back over, where a line was forming with four Spanish bike riders who started immediately hollering. I said, “Uno momento por la abuela!” I signaled for her to take off her pack. She got wide eyed and almost started to say no, but then unbuckled and gave me her pack and poles. I held her hand and we inched across in small careful steps. She got a little tipsy and these two guys immediately hopped into the shin deep water on either side and steadied her. “Merci monsieur, merci.” “De ríen, Granmere. Aujeudui, nous allons avec Dieu”. “It’s nothing Grandma. Today we go with God”

    Oui! Oui! Merci beaucoups monsieur!”

    May I walk this day 
in the realm of grace, 
walking with You 
my feet firmly on your earth-path, 
my heart loving all as kindred, 
my words and deeds alive with justice. 
May I walk as blessing, 
meeting blessing at every turn 
in every challenge, blessing, 
in all opposition, blessing, 
in harm's way, blessing. 
May I walk each step in this moment of grace, 
alert to hear You 
and awake enough to say 
a simple Yes. 
Robert Corin Morris
    Read more