Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Pedrouzo to Vilamaior

    June 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    A bittersweet day. My last leg into Santiago is tomorrow. But a good day that I spend in fellowship with several peregrinos. Breakfast is in a little cafe next door. I make it in before the large group being led by two priests and a hired guide. I meet Laurel a psychiatric nurse from Portland and we breakfast together. She has hiked from SJPdP with a couple who have stayed at other lodgings. A quick set to the room and hike to the middle of Pedrouzo, I see the large church group coming up the other direction, we are both heading to the main N/S road to recapture The Camino. A large loud unwieldy group I beat them and turn right up the hill. My Wise Pilgrim guide has been explicit about doing this and staying off the busy main road and it is completely worth it. Quiet forest hiking.

    The Camino has been my friend and companion, though I travel alone I have not been lonely, save for a few specific people. It had brought sights, sounds, miracles, solitude, experiences, unexpected trial, fellowship, culture, history and so much more. A good friend. But, sadly, my friends life comes to an end soon and today I want to go slow and savor our last day together. How many times do we lose a friend or loved one and wish for such a day? The silence of the forest is broken by the roar of jet engines. We are close to and will pass the Santiago airport, a reminder of how other aspects of life will take over after we take our leave of each other. I am consciously slowing down and am passed by several noisy groups.

    I meet a mother and daughter from Florida and a couple form Belgium. The mother and daughter brilliantly hopped on bikes to cross The Maseta. A bit further, and I pull off at a cafe for a bite, a beer and a rest. I meet Jaeye from South Korea and Chateau from Finland. Jaeye is a happy soul. Chateau has been suffering. She tried to walk The Camino barefoot, switched to flip flops and bought a pair of toe shoes which she has taken off. Her feet are a mess. Her main complaint is pain at the tip of each big toe. I break out my first aid kit and give her two of my silicone toe cups and a Euro so she can have a soda. She spent her money on the shoes. I also meet a very chatty Jose and his brother Carlos from Columbia. They are visiting family in Spain and their mother is very pious. She has insisted that they walk The Camino. Finally, at the same cafe I meet a woman who took Chemistry from Joe Carolan at TOHS. She and her husband are from Arizona. He is a Woodbadge trained (Beaver) Assistant Scoutmaster and Eagle Scout.

    So, a new day of friends and fellowship. But also a melancholy. I do miss my home, family and friends, but The Camino has changed me. Though it dies for me tomorrow it will forever exist and we may well meet again if faith plays a role. I wonder how I will seem different to others? I wonder how I will change them?
    Read more