Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Arzua to O Pedrouzo

    June 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    An interesting day. Started at 2:30 am when the French couple next door had an argument 😵‍💫
    The room had no AC and it hit the upper 80s in the afternoon so quite the toaster. Pack up and hit the road early and it was very quiet and peaceful. Cruised into a tiny town called Outeiro. Headed down a narrow lane, but a narrow, handmade yellow arrow pointed right. I saw a group at the bottom of the lane and assumed they had made a wrong turn. So I turned right and after arcing around the building found the eclectic Bar Tia Dolores who decorates with used beer bottles. I continued on The Way…getting increasingly nervous as I noticed an absence of the two sure signs you are On The Way…your fellow Peregrinos and the yellow arrows (flecha amarillo). But, there was one guy behind me so I carried on. After a while I came upon a map set in stone at a house gate. Sure enough, I had tracked off The Way. The other fellow was consulting his phone and we put our heads together and figured a plan, the map shows the eventual merge of our route with The Camino. We cruise along. Suddenly, we hear “Peregrinos! Peregrinos! El Camino no está aquí!” Running out of a house is a man half dressed, pulling up his trousers. He has seen us and wants to intervene. No Camino! No Camino! His fingers wag in admonishment. ‘Si! no problema señor! Mira mi carta!’ ‘Ah! Si El mapa de José Gutiérrez!” I point to where we are, “Esta aquí?” ‘Si, si!” Esta La iglesia? I point to a distant bell tower. Si la iglesia. I mime left then right…si, si, si and he brings his pointer fingers together, “El Camino!” I turn to the other Peregrino and say, “We got this!” And we hike on. Having heard my compatriots voice, I ask, Are you from Port Wenn? (Doc Martin reference) He laughs and says, you mean Port Issac! Yeh, about 5 km from there! I have met Dave! A retired psychiatric nurse with five grand kids. He learned of The Camino during a motorbike tour a few years ago. We then engage in the miraculous event of Peregrinos sharing their life story. It makes The Way pass more easily. Dave was at Cruz Ferro in A downpour and started having foot problems. We discuss the philosphies of The Way…an unexpected event…physical trial and their parallels in life. What a joy and gift. Thanks be to God.Read more