Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Camino 3: Gerekiz - Castro Urdiales

    June 23, 2021 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    Well, the heavy rain woke me three times last night, or else it was the lentil stew I had for lunch😋, only the guy I shared the dorm with will know🤷🏼.
    Anyway, on the road at 6.30am today, it was beautiful up in the mountain mist and fog at that hour. Stayed off most of the Camino with the rain. Morning coffee in Larabetzu, tough climbing up through some rural woods, but stayed "dry-ish" until descent into Zamudio.

    Morning traffic wasn't very nice, and just after starting the climb over to Bilbao, I had to turn back off the Camino as there was a river coming down against me. Found another way up, but Google maps was nudging me onto a motorway. I said screw this, and found some beautifully steep hills before down into Bilbao Baggins.

    Stamp in tourist office, whistlestop tour of Guggenheim, over the cable bridge near Portugalete and back to the beautiful coastline all the way up to Castro Urdiales.

    Soundtrack: the Stone Roses, Joy Division, Pixies, and lots of Interpol!
    Read more