Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Riding down the Croation coast

    August 22, 2019 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    I have no pictures of me, to show you, but alot happened none the less. I did take a couple of Patricia.
    Patricia and I reluctantly decided to use EBikes because the rest of our group was using them. Or so we were told. But we were the only two users. Mine unfortunately did not work at all for the the first 1/3 of the day. If you have not ridden an EBike they are about twice the weight of a regular street or road bike. Fortunately I am a strong rider so I didnt really notice it right away. I have never raced an EBike, so I peddled up steep hills thinking that my experience was normal. I never sweat on a bike race, but 15 miles into this one up 1,000 foot elevation, I was sweating from head to toe.
    I eventually did get the bike fixed, but after lunch my GPS did not work. Fortunately Patricia's did. Unfortunately it was NOT programmed for our race, it was programmed for another race. So we peddled up another 1000 foot elevation, close to 50 kilometers more in the wrong direction in 97 degree 75% humidity weather.
    Me, already spent from the bike not working in the morning looked pretty ragged coming in 15th out of 15 on my first leg.
    Read more