Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Meeting Mum :)

    August 28, 2019 in Denmark ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Ok woke up not feeling that fresh! A bottle of red wine each was probably a bit excessive!
    Buffet and all the bacon I can fit in to try to help bring me back to life :)

    Shower, pack and a goodbye to The Admiral and Copenhagen for now.

    Short bus ride to the train station and we board for our 3 hour journey to Aarhus to visit with Stella’s mum Ása and partner Flemming!

    Flemming picked us up from the station (3 seater truck) and it’s a short trip down the hill to the marina where Ása is waiting for us. Big big cuddles hello. She is all smiles and so adorably short :)

    A mountain of supplies has been sought and we haul them to the boat.

    Now Stella told me it was a tiny boat. So I thought dingy. It’s a motor boat with ample seating and even a little cabin you can lay down in!

    It’s called Pig because that’s what the engine sounds like Hahahaha

    The Skanderborg lake is huge, huge!

    Yes of course I went swimming! Every new waterway I visit. You have to jump in! It’s 27 degrees with a slight breeze and the lake was fresh but ideal! Revitalised!!! Bloody gorgeous!

    We were going to have a picnic on one of the islands but decided to head home to cook the bbq instead. Out on the lake for a couple of hours was ideal.

    Arrive at the house and it’s like the best b&b I have ever seen and it’s not one! A rooftop deck overlooking the hillside! Upstairs is a fully decked out bar, record room and projector. The bathroom even has a sensor for the water tap!! I could not feel more relaxed. I actually don’t think I am leaving this house. Magnificent truely.

    Had an absolutely amazing night. Flemming cooked us a BBQ on the deck and we ate overlooking the rolling hillside then inside to the bar. Ása took me on a show and tell of all the bits. The saddles stools that line the bar, the porthole window to the record room, totem pole that she hand painted that was from the local school, so may different lamps and signs, jugs and glasses. This bar decorated so well is so inviting to relax and catch up.

    Ása’s English is really good so Stella and her swap between English and Danish to keep me and Flemming in the loop. Flemming and I use hand signals until we get stuck and call Stella for help.

    Flemming built the deck and transformed the bar so I really enjoyed talking to him about how he did that.

    Mattresses out and I leave Stell and her mum chatting in the chill out lounge area and I am out like a light.

    Absolutely sensational day!!!
    Read more