Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Biking Aarhus

    August 31, 2019 in Denmark ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Caught the bus into Aarhus and then HIRED BIKES!
    Christine and Elizabeth were their names :)
    Helmets are not mandatory here in Denmark so I get to keep my hair hahaha

    We peddle down the hill and towards the sea side. It is a glorious day and the sea breeze is magnificent!

    Do I want to visit the Queens summer house? Stella asked. Hell yeah. So, we had to peddle up a massive hill and I quickly realised how unfit I am. I had to jump off and walk part the way!

    Was downhill through trees to the house though. We pull up at the gates and wonder if we can ride in.
    We try.
    Hrrrm... and the guard at the gate shakes his head.
    Ok no bikes then.
    We chain them up and head back to the gate.
    Hrrrm... boots slam together.. bigger head shakes.
    Ohhhhh so we can’t actually go in to see the Queen at her place?! Ok seems fair. I thought Denmark was pretty chill with the castles and stuff but yeah not that chill.
    I was hoping to say hi to Mary but not today!

    Back on the bikes and backtrack to the sea so we don’t have to ride uphill again.

    We head to the never ending bridge. A circular wooden bridge that starts on the sand and extends out over the water. Awesome and relaxing. Great place for a picnic!

    Back on the bikes and head back to town to Street food. A warehouse with all kinds of food trucks. Burger and a mojito (2).

    Then a short peddle to find Tattoo fashion Aarhus to book me in for a tattoo the week after next. I still have way to much room on my left international arm so perfect place to capture Denmark :)

    We peddle back home and drop the bikes off around the corner and come home to relax around 5pm.

    Down the the local supermarket for some pizzas to prepare at home. Some wine and chill!

    Another great day!!
    Read more