Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 352

    Three Years on the Road

    December 18, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    In 2021, I was 9 when we left to travel around Australia. We left in January after living at nan and pop’s for few months.

    Uncle Shaun, Aunty Kat, Byron and Lyla also left with us. We planned on travelling for two years, but not long into the trip we all started to talk about travelling for longer. Unfortunately, Uncle Shaun, Aunty Kat, Lyla and Byron could not stay longer. We separated in February 2022, when they started to head home. We ended up travelling for three years. We got home in December of 2023 and I was 12.

    We made it to all the states in Australia except for Tasmania, because it is too cold there.

    I had an amazing adventure travelling around Australia. I learnt a lot of new skills that most other kids would not get the chance to do. I learnt to drive an excavator and a car. I helped hunt and butcher a deer.

    My favourite place in Australia was Jared’s farm in Babinda. Hunting, riding, driving, island hoping and going to the Great Barrier Reef pretty much sums up why I loved Babinda so much.

    I had mixed feelings when I got home. I was happy to see my friends and family, but I was sad that I had to go back to school and not be able to hunt deer, ride my motorbike and take the boat out whenever we want.
    Read more