Satellite
Show on map
  • La Dulce Vita

    May 6, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 77 °F

    What a day!

    Not surprisingly, there were a few morning nerves navigating the chaotic symphony that is Rome traffic, but it quickly opened up to winding roads and beautiful countryside.

    First stop, for a morning coffee and quick stretch, was a hilltop town called Narni - known for being the geographic center of Italy. We then headed further North into Umbria where the scenery turned into vineyards and olive groves, a postcard on loop. Then we had lunch in la piazza in Montefalco. Seriously, la dulce vita.

    In the afternoon we found our way to Assisi, where we are spending the night. After settling in, we of course went to the basilica. Perhaps it was my past relationship with some of the Franciscan brothers in Brooklyn, but seeing friars on pilgrimage in the lower church really moved me. Since learning about the life of St. Francis years ago, I’ve intentionally tried to align myself to his values. Watching others embody this a life commitment is remarkable.

    Our hotel is right in the middle of town in Assisi. Sure, I’m as tall as my shower in my room, but you can’t beat the views.

    Buona notte.
    Read more