Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Went to the chronicles

    June 6, 2023 in Georgia ⋅ 🌩️ 25 °C

    Two days ago there was a cool looking lineup at a rave club called khidi. I was pretty keen to go because it should've been all the best parts of bassiani but with music that was a little less repetitive. I was determined to get there as late as possible so I would actually see the headliners this time (they start at 4am and 6am) so I drank a red bull and I think I managed to wait all the way up till 1 before I accidentally fell asleep :(((. So Sunday was a little sad coz I still had a hangover but on top of that I was also very disappointed in myself for not even making it past my little by myself pres.

    Monday I made a huge pot of carbonara and found out that there are actually more supermarkets here than I thought. I just couldn't see them on maps coz I was searching up supermarket this whole time but apparently they're called " hypermarkets" here (supermarket = deli in georgian I guess). Which is dumb but now I know.
    At any rate the carbonara was superb (not as good as mums tho) and I ended the day feeling very full and happy.

    Today I went to the chronicles, which are a bunch of huge(30m) copper poles on top of a hill. They're covered in a myriad of historical christian and georgian carvings. I thought the chronicles were ancient and I was walking around in awe until a found that a couple of the poles had little unfinished sections where there was no copper and instead it was just concrete. I looked it up and turns out they only started building the chronicles in the 80s ahaha, they did it for 20 years and then didn't quite finish but gave up after 2003. I also thought that they were huge pieces of solid copper, but its actually mostly concrete with a thin copper layer stuck to the outside.
    I will say a lot of the majesty was gone after I knew all that but the view was still great and aesthetically the chronicles do look really cool (just not that structurally impressive lol). The best part of today was the tbilisi sea! The water was crystal clear and ablsotuley stunning! It's been so long since I've been for a swim. I hung around for ages just swimming and then sitting around getting warm enough to go swimming again. The water was that temperature where it stings a little when you hop in so I had to Wim Hof it but I felt amazing afterwards. First experience with rocks instead of sand.
    Read more