Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 87

    First day in athens

    August 2, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    Spencer didn't get up until 2pm today so I had a heap of time to explore around the neighbourhood. For breakfast, I got one of those dense, syrup drenched cakes that come in the baklava packs. I'd forgotten about them but they literally sell them everywhere here, I'm very excited to have a bunch everyday because they're great ahaha. The fruit n veg in the shops looked amazing, I'll be able to make some great salads this month :). While I was getting breakfast, I noticed we live near a big hill, so I walked up that to get a view of the city. At the top there's a church and a bar that im very keen to have a beer at at some point. I saw the acropolis and an old looking Olympic arena. I was blown away by how densely-packed and vast the city was, all the buildings look quintessentially Greek as far as the eye can see (apart from a few business buildings), it was very pretty to look at. Once I got back from my walk I woke spencer up and we went for lunch. I got a Greek salad which was OK but it was really just onions, tomato and feta, not too much to get excited about but it did taste very fresh. We then took a bus to the beach and stayed there for the rest of the day. It was so good to have a swim in the ocean again, Id missed it a lot :)). We kinda balled out at the beach bar lol, grossly overpaid for some chairs and daiquiris but we were just so excited to be back near the ocean so it had to happen. We smuggled a bottle of ouzo in so I got to have my first greek ouzo at the beach, which was perfect :).
    The water was very warm, a bit like bali. We wanted to go out afterwards but did some research and found that athens seems to be more of a fri, sat, sun place. Found a place on milos Island called Sarakiniko which i think I wanna go to, the ferrys cost 250 bucks tho oof.
    Read more