Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 93

    Just a myriad of things

    August 8, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    It's quite hot in Greece so we've been a little less tempted to leave the house recently. On the weekend we went to a bar crawl. It was full of Aussies, mostly from Perth. It was fun and got quite messy towards the end but Athens's equivalent of northbridge felt felt a little drab compared to Warsaw. It's a bit like bali here with all the tourists. I made giant servings of lasagne and mac n cheese so we've been chipping away at those instead of restaurants, still having salads most days too. We went out yesterday to try loukoumades which are little fried donut balls drenched in honey sugar syrup. They're so sweet and crispy and they explode in your mouth when you bite them. We both agreed that they're the best foreign food we've had this trip by a mile. I've also been eating a ton of the dense sugar cakes (they're called revani I think), so many that I haven't had time to try a proper baklava yet, I'll have to soon! I think Greek desserts are my favourite in the world. We've got a plumber coming today coz the house has been leaking and the clothes washer doesn't work. Yesterday I got to go into the upstairs apartment and it was nicer than ours so I'm gonna try and weasel my way into a room swap. My leg got infected for a bit too but all good now. Other than that we've just been spending all our time throwing little dj parties in the apartment, it's been fun as :)). Booked our airbnb in istanbul for next month and I think after that we're gonna try get a surf in bulgaria. They have a comp there every year and the wave is a fast steep shoulder high left so I reckon I can win it ahahahahaRead more