Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 225

    We went swimming in the river!!! (Pt1)

    December 18, 2023 in Czech Republic ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    Had the best day yesterday :). First thing we did was go out for a Turkish breakfast. I'd completely forgotten how much we loved the big spreads they did for breakfast in Turkey so when Ozge suggested we go I was so amped! This one wasn't quite as vast as the real thing but it was still so yum. After that, I had to go back to the ornament alley from the other day, we tried to walk there but we got lost and ended up at the prague castle. The castle was real cool but the best bit was the Cafe at the end, it overlooked the whole city and the sky was so sunny and clear it turned out being the best view of the city so far! In the evening we went to the Charles Bridge to see a guy that dresses up in an old medieval costume to light the lanterns, it only happens at Christmas and seems like a pretty big deal, we only saw the end but there were like 100 people following the guy around and they gave him a huge round of applause when he finished. It was night by this point so we got dinner from the Christmas markets and then went to a sauna bar, which was definitely the highlight of the day. It was on a boat and they let you swim in the river! The river water was so cold it was insane, the longest I spent in the water was like 30 seconds and by the end my whole body was contracting into a ball and I could barley move. We spent the night getting as warm as we could in the sauna and then running out to have competitions to see who could stay in the water the longest. I definitely didn't think I'd be swimming in the prague river this trip and I'm so stoked I got to. After that we went to another bar on the rivers edge, it had a massive glass circle as the door which was so cool, it was terrible at keeping the warm in tho ahah.

    Ps the guy taking the video is Konrad, he's a friend we made at the bar crawl he's from Perth.
    Read more