Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Benjamin Franklin Museum

    May 14, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Question: “What kind of influence will this trip have on you as a leader”?
    I was excited to go to the Benjamin Franklin Museum because he is my mother’s hero so I have grown up hearing about him and listening to his quotes. After touring the museum, I realized that it was the single most impactful experience for me in terms of leadership. On one plaque I read about how Benjamin Franklin was judged for his leadership traits. His ambitious and rebellious nature were viewed in a negative light; yet he persevered and did not shy away from his strengths. His intelligence and work ethic propelled him and drew people to him. However, he always stood up to injustice.
    This resonated with me because justice is a cause I am always willing to fight for. Plus, some of my strongest character traits are viewed as negative attributes. I have always been outspoken, honest, and able to call things as I see them. These traits were never embraced unless someone needed me to address an issue for them. I think often honesty forces people outside of their comfort zones and sometimes the truth hurts, so those willing to speak it are viewed negatively.
    Observing all of the accomplishments made by Benjamin Franklin made me realize that he had a gift for taking those traits and channeling them into a force to drive his projects and ideas. He made great advancements for the nation by using the strengths he had. That is how I need to attack my leadership opportunities. I need to be confident in the strengths I have and learn to channel them productively so that they help build instead of convey a negative connotation.
    Read more