Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    A birdwatching event

    April 3, 2022 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    As birdwatching is a very serious hobby for me, I eager to participate in birdwatching events outside of my country to see how's everything in different places. I just saw the event's poster on Instagram and I have no idea how it will go on.
    Just when I'm coming out of subway station, it starts to rain. The park is really big and I don't know where the event is. It doesn't rain for too long and after that, it is the best time for birdwatching, because birds are becoming more active and sing a lot. Then, I pass a bridge and see the tents. I go there and just try to be an observer, because everyone speaks in Turkish.
    There is a gathering and a female guide explains various birds that could be seen there. Another tent belongs to children and the goal is having fun and learning while playing. They are preparing another tent to get binoculars to anyone interested. There is another gathering which I can't figure out the topic exactly, but they are talking about migratory birds. A space is designed for drawing birds and I know the instructor from Instagram, who is drawing birds for field guides. Participants for drawing are from any age, very young to old. Someone else is talking about how to interact with a bird or any animal when you find it. My favorite tent is where they inform people about eBird website and database and they even have a whiteboard and everyone can write down any species observed there. After 4 hours, the event is much more crowded and I have seen enough. I learned a lot from it and hope that one day we could perform such an event in Iran.
    Read more