Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 58

    Under pressure

    January 25, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today we headed to another beach in Arriaial . The beaches here are very different even in the same citys, some are for surfing , some are for snorkelling, and some are for boats . We have decided to take a diving trip today, only to 10m but i want to try it before i commit to booking my Padi course. We head out on the boat and begin prepping all the gear for the dive , god i thought getting a wetsuit on was bad enough but my god the gear was massive , weights tanks and flippers. Raffael and Mark let me go first and the instructors from Deep Trip were amazing. Sabrina spoke perfect English and as i entered the water I felt really confident . We spent a little time on the surface and then when i was comfartable we started to descend , however when i got to about 4 m the pain in my ears was really bad and no matter how much i tried to clear them it was still bad. I thought it would be a good idea after a couple of attempts to try and fight it and as we descende further the pain was excrutiating and instead of concentrating on my breathing my focus had moved . As i panicked water started to fill my mouth, I had no idea how deep we were and panic had no overtaken any concentration I thought i would die . We ascended back to the surface and Sabrina asked if i would like to try again , but the pain was still excrutiating so i chose to get out , I was so dissapointed but hoped Mark would have a better experience. He did! I was so glad for him, but so dissapointed for myself . Ah well theres always the surf !!!!Read more