Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Surfer's Paradise

    January 28, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    So this morning we left Arriaial de Cabo early morning and boarded 'the local bus back to Cabo Frio for our onward journey to Saquarema. This bus journey will take approximately 3hrs (nothing in Brazil is pronto) but after boarding we realise we will probably be on time. No sooner has someone boarded the driver is off and that goes for someone who was getting off the bus . The hostel is amazing very surf orientated but that's what Saquarema is all about. I am in my absolute paradise , died and gone to heaven. The guy here is called José , he speaks perfect english , is very helpful and even had a board and wetsuit to borrow as it would be a bit difficult doing machu picchu with a board as well as a backpack . I can't rate this place enough and would rate to all my surfing friends as well as the non surfer's grab a board and your bound to catch a wave(you will be hooked). So off we head down the beach you get a table and chairs and a parasol and as long as you drink £5 in ice cold beers and soft drinks (very hard to do in the 30 degree heat at less than a quid a go) your table is free. After just one beer I say to Mark let's head for the waves an he reluctantly follows. The waves are huge and I head in the water with total respect the undercurrent is so powerful that you up to your neck in water one minute and its around your ankles the next as I look behind me it's a wall of froth as a huge wave breaks and I jump on it. I'm either gonna get totally wiped out or have the best surf of my life. The latter is what happens and my heart is racing as I tira onda (ride the wave in portuguese also means someone who is really cool. I am buzzing and have booked to have an additional day .Read more