Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 173

    Time To Think

    May 19, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Over the past week Mark and I have spent nearly 80 hours on buses, all in the pursuit of a place called Bonito which in Engllish tranlates tto beautiful. As you can imagine in this time ive had plenty of opportunity to1 reflect on our whole journey in general. For the peole who have known me for a while, you will know that this trip has been a dream for a long time, and even though it was something i longed for it was never something i actually thought i would achieve.
    Ive always worked hard from a young age, and for that matter always dreamed big, with my sontaneous nature starting when i joined the Navy all those years ago. Too quit our jobs and pack our lives into a couple of rucksacks to most people would be crazy, and trust me in the final weeks i actually believed that was the case, however living this dream has changed me as a person.
    We are so blessed at home, but also very materialistic, and travelling has made me realise that that is not something i will chase anymore. ive realised that driving a brand new car or having the latest television are not the things that make me happy and in actual fact im happier without them.
    The people in my life are what makes me happy, My daughter who i am so proud of, my mum who has given me the confidence and brought me up with the morals i have, Mark who has supported my recklessness and my friends whos ears i have bent. I love and miss you all , but not enough to come home just yet.
    We have been gone nearly 5 months but have seen and done so much, met some amazing people some of them time and tme again but ive also had moments of sadness when ive seen young children who will never have an education, or the old lady with dirty feet in the street begging for her next meal.
    My passion for travel has only grown, and i think Mark has definitely obtained an addiction for i as well.
    As i look back at where i was a year ago i realise that ddoing this has been been the right thing to do, My job controlled me even in my free time and got to a point where it made me ill, but since being out here i have never felt healthier. Finishing the Inca trail was a massive achievement both mentally and physically and made me realisei am strong and pretty fit , and spending 24 hours a day with Mark has been a blessing, well most of the time anyway.Since weve been married the quality and quantity of time spent together has been minimal, but this trip has definitely brought us a lot closer together.
    Dont get me wrong there have been times on our journey that have not been all roses but they make you appreciate the times when it is good. I know im waffling on a bit now, but the point im trying to make is, do what makes you happy life is far too short to be miserable, its not all about the money, time with your loved ones is so much more valuaable xxxxx
    Read more