Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 210

    Local day

    June 25, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    I wake at 4 am today to try and catch a sunrise and as i sit on the porch at 430 i see a headtorch standing right by our gate. Its pitch black and i have a horrible feeling sombodies watching me . Mark is only a few feet away so i dont panic but within minutes it becomes obvious its the crew setting up for filming. I position myself where im not blinded by the lights of stardom and set up the camera on time lapse. Im amazed by how much i like this new gadget on my ipod. At 530 the sky starts to change from black to orange but i cant see any full sunrise so i take myself back to bed at 545. I get up for breakfast and im telling them about the film crew when one of the girls Luana tells me sunrise is at 6, absolutely gutted but theres always tommorow. We have extended our stay and our plans have also changed after speaking with them as Morro De Sau Paulo is going to be pakcked with it being festival. Mark attempts again to do some laundry but the woman is still not there so i do it all by hand while Mark erects a washing line. The weather has changed quite dramatically and the film crew on the beach are packing up. I ask if they would be finished for the day and the giy says give it an hour. Half an hour later im in the water and its great. The cloidy skies are starting to clear and the sun is trying its best. Mark and i head down the beach and just enjoying the fact of being so close to the sea. There is definitely a storm brewing and you can feel the wind of change so we grab a quick shower and wait for it to begin . Ive had a nightmare all the blogs ive written for the past few days have gone. I saved them on my ipod and the app crashed so all my drafts were wiped. So much for technology. At least writing in a book i dont have predictive text and a missing p on my keyboard. I have finally caught up by getting up at sunset and re writing. At 7pm the electricity starts to fail and by 730 we are using candlelight we sit in the darkness and Mark has the idea of swinging me in the hammock, the next thing im on the floor with my whole body bouncing of the concrete. We carry on watching the storm wondering wether to venture out for something to eat. We sit and sit and then decide to go. Armed with our head torches we make the 20 minute walk to town and with the street(i use that term loosely) lights out we see the fireflys. I first saw these in Petropolis and it makes me realise how short time is as that waa mearly 6 months ago. A lot has happened in 6 months but im really excited for the next 6. We eat delicioid pasta filled with sundried beef and pumpkin before returning to the hostel to baton down the hatches xxRead more