Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,228

    CHINATOWN

    January 3, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    After a quick freshen up I decide to go and speak to a travel agent to see what my options for moving on are. The news isn't great as literally all travel lanes are closed. Its so expensive in Singapore I'm going to end up doing my whole budget here if I'm not careful so I book a hostel from the 5th to the 10th and even sharing an 8 bed room it's £40 per night and I feel it might be better for me meeting travelling people who might be able to help me with some advice. Whilst in the area I decide to grab a bite to eat and enter a small bar /restaurant on one of the side streets. In the bar there are a couple of people from Australia and as I'm chatting to them the owner of the restaurant comes over and says we're not allowed to talk. As if that's going to make any difference. I finish my chicken satay which to be fair was delicious and have a small explore of the area, as the hostel is based here I don't want to do it all at once, after all I Don't know how long I'm going to be here. One of the side streets houses the most amazing mural, even putting Banksy in the shadows. I like the buzz of Chinatown so feel quite happy moving here. I've booked for 5 days just in case I don't like it I don't want to commit to much more. So having ticked a few boxes I head back to the luxury hotel to make the most of my double bed and bath. After my bath I decide to use the water to do some laundry, I haven't seen any launderettes here and the hotel prices are ridiculous so there's only one thing for it DIY . Lets hope it drys before I checkout An early night beckons as I was watching the game till 2 this morning so I put a movie on and chill.Read more