Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,238

    Makin Plans

    January 13, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Chatting with someone in the hotel whilst having a ciggie last night he told me I can get into Indonesia now and after spending till 1 in the morning trying to apply etc I nearly sent myself crazy. Daryl has offered me his laptop to use today which is a god send and after a good night's sleep I have made a decision to just head to Thailand. I'm putting myself under too much pressure to try and get the way I want to but now I know the mistakes I made with my Thai pass I'm pretty confident I'll be fine this time. I'm in no rush and Thailand is somewhere I've travelled on numerous occasions, dragging Amber all over the country for her 16th birthday which I enjoyed more than her at the time, so I feel comfortable getting around there. After 4 hrs my application is completed and I pray this time everything is OK. I've also made enquiries about getting my phone fixed moe so the fact I can't afford getting any moisture in it as it is literally the only device I've got so I make my way to a place called Bedok. I have an address and find it easily. When I arrive the guy is nowhere to be seen and seeing as I haven't eaten walk back to the hawker round the corner. These are food halls that sells everything from pigs intestine and trotters to ribs chicken wings and sweet and sour pork. They are the cheapest places to eat in the country and for £3 i have the choice of 2 meat and 1 veg with rice. The nice thing is I don't know what I'm eating half the time but I pick what I like the look of sometimes it's trial and error but generally apart from being slightly cold it's delicious. They are real foodies here and I mean top end Michelin star restaurants in every suburb although I'm not on a budget to experience that. I arrive back at the phone stall and The guy fixes it there and then and pleasantly surprised when he only charges me £20. Today is a really good day. Next to the phone stand is a place selling bubble drinks. I haven't tried these yet but there all the rage out here so I order the brown sugar milk. It's like a milkshake but with these pearls of flavoured tapioca. I can't decide whether I like it or not but it's cold and wet and with the heat today exactly what I need. I board the mrt and there are police on board. Its my first encounter and I'm surprised to see there armed with 2 guns . Good job I've got my mask on and I'm not talking to anyone. I get back to the hotel and I head to the roof top bar for a quick g and t to receive an email that my Thai pass has been approved I'm so happy I could burst. I celebrate with another g and t. When I arrive back the hotel its pointed out that the pass says I'm departing from the UK? Back to the Thai embassy it is.Read more