Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,251

    Motor bike madness

    January 26, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I've plucked up the courage to hire a bike today. And after checking it over hand over my passport. I don't know whether I feel more nervous at that or the trepidation that I haven't ridden in years and the roads here are crazy. I take it nice and slowly ( no more than 30km an hour) the only thing i overtake is parked vehicles and after 30 mins arrive at the beach. I hire a sunbed for £2 and stay there till early afternoon just sat under an umbrella, reading a book and dipping in and out of the sea. I'm astonished when a group of Russians turn up and they go topless as its illegal here, so obviously haven't done their homework or blatantly dont respect the rules. As I come to leave the beach there are a couple of nice restaurants just opposite and make my way over. I sit and giggle as they bye for the passing trade and the first restaurant is literally pulling people in and shouting the loudest seems to be a winning combination. I use my go pro on my helmet on the way back now I'm a little more accustomed to it and I have to stop for fuel on the way back and its dispensed from a pump machine that's older than I am and costs 80p to half fill the tank. The fuel is cheaper than the water here. I arrive back safe and sound and although I've enjoyed it I'm still nervous. It's the other crazy drivers that scare me . In the evening I walk along the front and see a dance fitness on the beach and would join in but I'm already dressed for the evening make a mental note for sundowners tomorrow. I head to my usual haunt for a few g & t's and start chatting to two ladies from Liverpool not only does she know pip (my aunt for those that don't know) but she lives in the same street omg it's a small world xRead more