Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,270

    La Gon

    February 14, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I'm staying in the loveliest resort called Khum Lanta we have a wonderful pool so i decide to make the most of it and have a day by the pool. I sit on my balcony when Saw the cleaning lady comes over and asks if I want my room cleaning. I say it's fine and come down and sit on the step with her. She used to work in 3 different places with her daughter before covid and at the moment only one place has reopened. Her son will arrive tonight who is only 17 but stays in a different place in Thailand but today is the start of the holidays so she will spend time with him when she's not working. I ask if she has ever been to the 4 Islands and when she says no I offered to pay for her and her son to go but she refuses. She says she cant get the time off because the other lady is off with her children. I give her an offering and tell here to buy something special for dinner tonight with having the family back together. In tge early evening hilmi invites me to the beach to share a bbq with banana and the crew. I enjoy spending time with Thai people we could all learn as much from them as they have learnt from us. !! One of the most beautiful things here is that every sunset is different and as the kids play in the water so happily we enjoy the time together and I learn that La Gon is something they say when you are leaving the island and won't be seeing each other for a long time. How apt I can actually use it tonight . As the sky darkens we are treated to a Thunderstorm without the rain and drinking Thai rum and soda over the rocks out of cut off plastic bottles we end the evening sharing snacks and milkshake before I return to my room for my early departure tomorrow.Read more