Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,290

    Chaing Mai to Pai

    March 6, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    The train arrives on time and after ducking and dodging all the taxi/tuc tucs at the entrance I sit in the cafe and enjoy the best coffee I've had in weeks. I've agreed a price of 100 baht to the bus station and the driver stands right by me guarding me like the crown jewels. I take my time and have a couple of cigarettes before he drops me to the station. At the ticket office I purchase my ticket to Pai for 150 baht which is ironic as its a 3hr journey and I've just paid 100 to travel 5 mins but I'm not complaining as it said it was 300baht online.The minivan drives the windy roads spending half his time on the other side of the road avoiding waterbuffalo just strolling along. Its burning season in the North at the moment and fires scatter the mountain range with bellows of smoke. About 40kmh outside of pai the bus pulls over and an Army guy opens the side door and the boot of the minibus and an alsatian sniffer dog gets in. With nothing found were on our way again. I'm meeting back up with the girls today and Louise and Rach are at a breakfast bar 15 minutes walk from the bungalow and when I arrive there's noone to check me in so I leave my backpack in a corner and walk to the cafe. When we get back Leah meets up and after sharing a drink 3 of us hire bikes. We go to the Chinese village and the viewpoint which is jaw dropping, but when we arrive at the waterfall it's dry so rather than risk life and limb climbing up it we give it a miss and head back. After a quick change we head out and grab street food and eat it in the bar which allows you to do this as long as you buy a drink. I end up on the Sambucas and as you can imagine it's not a good outcome. I end up in the sunset bar and have had at least 5 Sambuca and the same in beers and when I go to the toilet literally can't walk. Louise takes care of me but I'm so drunk one of the guys and Lou bring me home. 3 of us on a motorbike. It's something that won't be repeated but I'm glad to be in my bedRead more