Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,309

    La gon

    March 25, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I'm at the passport office for bang on 830 and there are already a couple of English girls there already and they've brought a Thai guide with them to give them a hand. It's not needed in this office as they speak really good English and have forms filled in to give you an example of what and how to fill it in. Eventually 10 minutes later someone opens the gates and were allowed in Luckily enough I've already done that and I'm just here to get my 15day stamp.The lady calls me to the counter and explains the officer needed to sign my paperwork isn't in and I'll need to wait. At this point I'm glad I booked the 1pm bus to Chaing mai. Eventually 30 minutes later i'm all done and head for a coffee before going to pack ive pretty much got the packing off to a t now and it literally takes 10 minutes . I check out and go and get some breakfast I get a final farewell with Mimi and Aron which im happy about. On the bus I get chatting to a guy called Ben who's been I Thailand for 10 + years and I was shocked to learn Americans are exempt from the 51/49 business split set up here. We exchange stories and it really helps the 2 1/2 hour journey of winding roads back to Chiang Mai pass really quickly. We arrive at 4 pm and out of the station I hail a tuc tuc to take me to the train station. I just about Have time for a decent coffee at the station again before grabbing a few snacks for the 12hr train journey. I've caught the early train as I've decided to travel 2nd class this time. Chaing Mai Station is really quaint and as I show my ticket the guard points me in the direction of my bus. As I approach I can see the train just has half open windows and I have visions of being eaten alive but as I board I'm guided to the front carriages and maneuvering through them proves a little bit difficult with this chunk of a rucksack. When I read my ticket I think I'm in bed 25 but a German girl insists it's her bed, back through the carriage I go to find the guard who points to a number 14 on my ticket which I find to be empty. When I first get on the train it's 2 seats opposite each other and I can't see how this is going to turn into two beds and begin thinking I should have booked first class but a short while later the guard comes along with an Allen key and opens the locker above to reveal a bed. I'm so relieved that I get straight in it at 7pm. An hour into the journey and at the 3rd station women board the train with huge food baskets selling their wares and although a little hungry I give it a miss. I settle myself in with the blanket they have provided and have a very broken night's sleep.Read more