Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,311

    Back to the Islands

    March 27, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Back on board the bus the older guy in the seat next to me chair isn't reclining so I offer him mine. He refuses but thanks me profusely. I manage to grab a few bits of sleep and wake around 530. The old boy is still asleep so I creep round him to go to the toilet. We finally arrive in Krabi and as I get off the bus the old boy is asking me where I'm going. I say ao nang to phi phi ferry but and points to his sons pick up truck. I've been chatting to a couple of people from Argentina and he also offers to drop them. We jump in the flatbed of the pickup with all our luggage. They've only been in Thailand a few days. Talk about the introduction of fire. About 20 mins into the journey I look at Google maps and realise we're heading in the wrong direction and I knock on the window the guys son pulls over and when I show him the map I tell him no problems I will catch a cab back. They have a young baby with them but the old man insists and back we go. Safely at the ferry port the guys get a long boat and I wait for the ferry. The terminal has an old navy ship and a jet but ive been unable to find why but would assumme its part of the old military base. I have no ticket so go and purchase that, then sit and wait for the ferry to arrive. I get off the ferry and make the trek to the other side of the island to drop off my bags . It is so much hotter here. As I walk through I catch up with a few of the crew here on my wander through. I drop my bags and dig a bikini out, it's been a while since I've needed one but within 10 minutes I'm on the beach. I meet a guy called Jon here and we just have a general chat. A little later a familiar face comes down the beach. It's so good to see Chris, but he's been diving this morning so literally just meets and greets me and heads for a shower. In the evening I have been looking forward to the fish in Garlic and it certainly doesn't dissapoint. I spend the evening having one or two drinks catching up with various people finishing up in the beach bar at the end of the beach watching the youngsters try and climb the dancing pole in here. I have a little chuckle before the short walk home.Read more