Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,349

    Day at the beach

    May 4, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I wake jubilant, we're through to another champions league final although it was a bit hit and miss first half. I take myself for my usual morning coffee then take myself back to the hostel. There are a couple of German girls outside but check in isn't till 3 so I let them put they're bags in my room. We meet other friends of theirs at a coffee shop in town and wander Georgetown for a few hours. I've pretty much seen everything but as you turn a corner there's is always something you've missed. We eventually are a group of 10 and we discuss various options of what to do. Its always hard to please everyone with such a big group and while a couple of them eat I sample the famous white coffee. Its one of the signature things in Georgetown although it really doesn't taste any different irs roasted with butter and sugar than a coffee We go back to the hostel and have decided to head to the beach for the day. I'm quite excited as it's been a while since I've been in the water and I get my costume on. We discuss about getting a couple of grabs but there's 9 of us going so I suggest the bus. The beaches are on the North of the island and when we get on the bus it's saying it'll take an hour but 20 minutes in we're still an hour away. I'm so glad we managed to get a seat. There are 55 stops on the route and I can see the guys are agitated but it wouldn't have been any quicker with a grab as it's literally one road along the coast. The traffic is still bad as the holidays continue but I believe it should get a bit quieter from tomorrow onwards. Still 20 minutes away I spot a cove and suggest we should get off. Its crazy as with 9 of us we take up half the seating area. The beach is quite nice with huge boulders and by the time we get there the sun is half way setting. It's so good to get in the sea and although its not as clean as I'd like it's warm and wet. A couple of the guys go and buy beer from a local shop and we watch the sun set. I notice the bus coming down the road and we make a mad dash to jump on , although this time we're not lucky enough to get a seat thankfully the journey is quicker. We share a few beers and some amazing falafel in the evening before retiring to bed.Read more