Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 2.359

    Day at the beach

    14 de maio de 2022, Malásia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I wake up with my priority of deciding where I'm going to watch the game tonight. After much deliberation I think I will head to the new bar. Uncle Johnny is in raos when I go for my morning coffee and when I say I'm heading to the beach he offers that I can use his pool instead. We finish breakfast but when I arrive to his place the pool doesn't look as wonderful as it did the other night. Actually it's really dirty from all the leaves that have dropped in it and after dipping my feet I see the biggest betle I opt for the beach after all. Its extremely hot today so I spend the afternoon dipping in and out the sea just to keep cool. The heat here is so draining that after a few hours at the beach I take myself back to my room to get a few hours sleep before the game. I've arranged to go to the new bar with a couple of the locals and feel well rested after my afternoon siesta. We go to the local bar cinnamon where I have the pleasure of meeting Dato Azhar Mansor. He was the first Malaysian to sail single handed around the world back in 1999 which took him 190 days 6hrs 57mins and 2 seconds. The fastest at the time. It seems crazy that I'm sitting here with a world record breaker. Let's hope Liverpool achieve the win tonight to still be in with a chance of breaking the quadruple record. After a few beers here we make our way to the new bar Knot Shore. Its a crazy thing because along the beach here there used to be many bars before lock down but since restrictions were lifted and the bars started reopening the landowners have restricted the people who lease the bars and with it being such a high Muslim populated island the alcohol restrictions have been imposed which is crazy as its also a duty free island. Andrew then drives us to the bar . They have a projector onto a canvas which doesn't necessarily give the best quality but at this point I'm not too bothered. I'm so stressed watching the game and as the final few minutes approach we lose the Internet signal. I book a grab as I want to see the extra time without interference and when I eventually spot the grab driver he drives past without stopping. Nathan and I start the walk home but by this time the extra time is half way through. I eventually arrive back and see the last few penalties and in a way I'm glad as the suspense would have killed me. I rejoice in our victory with a final beer before bedLeia mais